close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Broke down today, possible causes?

Discussion in 'Mechanical & Technical' started by zxrod, Jul 5, 2014.

1. I guess I'll preface this by saying this is my first year riding and I'm not particularly mechanically inclined but I'm trying, so bear with me.

I've got a ~15 year old Nighthawk 750 with about 13k miles that I've been tooling around on that crapped out on me and I'm trying to figure out why. As I was getting on the on ramp of the highway and up to speed suddenly the oil light turned on, the throttle became unresponsive and the bike choked out. After walking my bike back up the on ramp and onto the sidewalk I really flexed my mechanical skills and switched to the reserve tank in case I somehow burned the main tank in only 100 miles. Still wouldn't start.

After that I pulled off the side and checked my air filter that I changed last week, not because I thought it would do anything but because it's the only part I've ever changed myself (last week) and maybe I did something wrong? After putting the side back on I decided to try and fire it up again, gave it lots of choke and throttle and somehow she came back to life. I let it warm up for a few minutes and then rode the 5 mins or so back home without issue.

I guess I'm wondering if anyone has any idea what the problem could have been? I don't think my fiddling with the air filter accomplished anything. It was probably 20-30 mins between when it died on me and I got it started again. Would the bike not being warmed up enough before trying to get up to that speed cause this or is it indicative of a bigger problem? I ride it pretty frequently around the city without any problems but not on the highway often.

2. Be very concerned that the oil light came on. Check your oil level before anything. Is it possible you might have bumped the kill switch to OFF?

3. On a bike that old it could be many things.