close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Help putting beater bike back together

Discussion in 'Mechanical & Technical' started by joblammy, Aug 14, 2014.

1. I bought my first bike (a POS 2007 Baja Bv 250) recently just as something to learn on (got it really cheap). I have no experience with engines and am not especially mechanically inclined, but always wanted learn.

It ran fine when I bought it but within a week it started jumping a bit on acceleration, then slowly lost power over 30 seconds while riding and sputtered to a stop. It started up a couple more times (after waiting 5-10 minutes each) and got me back to my house.

At first it would idle for 30 seconds or so and then sputter and stall. Now it only fires up (catches) for a second sometimes but doesn't actually idle.

I stripped down and cleaned the carb
    gas flows freely from petcock when both in the on and the reserve position.
    the carb had plenty of gas in the float bowls when i removed it so its getting gas.
    Battery is fine (ran low but i hooked it up to my car (without running the car) and it tried to start very hard so battery isn't causing the problem.
    I'm having trouble identifying where the spark plugs are to check them.

Also, It seems that some tubes may have fallen out and I don't know where to to reconnect them (or if i even need to since some are likely overflow/vent tubes).

Pictures:

What is this cannister thing? fuel filter? emissions canister? One of the tubes possibly hooks up to the underside of the gas tank?

[​IMG]

These are the hookups under the gas tank. When I pulled the tank off neither of these nipples were hooked up to anything. Theres no label and theyre the same size. I think maybe the cannister tube goes to one of these.

[​IMG]

I'm not sure if a vacuum tube should be going to the petcock (I don't see a hookup for one). For now, only the fuel line from the carb is plugged in.

[​IMG]