I don't care about power, but I do want smoothness.....

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Talk' started by blakegaston, Oct 14, 2012.

1. blakegaston

blakegaston
    Expand Collapse

I know my experience is the main culprit, and seattime will ultimately be the biggest investment, but perhaps there are a few modifications that can help me along my way.

I've posted threads before inquiring about throttle smoothness, and things of that nature. The main problem I have right now is going through 0% throttle to 1%. The initial crack, and getting back on throttle after letting off is very difficult for me, because of the jerk due to drivetrain slack, or whatever.

Any mods to help alleviate this? Would it be a waste of money, or would a ECU reflash, a tune, or PCV help at all? What about sprockets.. maybe going the opposite direction and sacrificing acceleration for a bit more smoothness? I honestly don't know. I'm still learning mechanically, and in practice. I don't really know many people who ride. I usually learn through trial and error, but unfortunately, with my bike, error could mean death, so online forums are all I got.

Again, I don't care about power. My 600 is plenty fast for me, albeit I ride very conservatively. I just want dat smooooooth.

Thanks for all the information / suggestions.

2. Furious Coder

Furious Coder
    Expand Collapse

Shaft drive?

3. Deven

Deven
    Expand Collapse
    Dee-von White

practice

4. Adjust your throttle cables.
    I bet that's it.

5. blakegaston

blakegaston
    Expand Collapse