I'll be caging it for awhile...

Discussion in 'Roseburg' started by varment, Aug 21, 2012.


  1. varment

    varment
    Expand Collapse

    4,675
    0
    766
    Location:
    Tri-city, Oregon
    Saw Kirk today on Edenbower after the train cleared the tracks.... (unrelated forethought)

    Last weekend I took off on a coast ride just for shits and giggles and to see how I would handle hours at a time on the Daytona. Stopped for fuel and the bike seemed like the battery was weak.... I should have gone straight home at that point but continued on thinking that was weird... I stopped again at my destination for the night and just out of curiosity I tried to start it again and click click click...

    So long story short bought a set of jumper cables and got a jump the next morning, once for fuel and limped the rest of the way home with no gauges what so ever, it would flicker every once in awhile as it tried to cycle but would then go blank. Right around Eugene the bike started surging like I wasn't making enough juice to fire the spark plugs... at that point it was one mile at a time while I started barking encouragement like a personal trainer at a fat camp... It made it all the way home and as soon as I pulled to a stop in my driveway, it died... I love that bike!!

    I plugged it in and topped it off and pulled the battery out of the bike... After a few tests with my voltmeter I have come to the conclusion that the rectifier is toast... At idle stator puts out 22 volts at all three phases unplugged and 6 volts while plugged. Battery is good and held 13.7 volts for 24 hours out of the bike. Getting the funds Friday to get an FH020AA from here but will be camping so will order it Monday with the plan being to install it the next weekend I'm not camping or at drill.

    I'm also going to take this opportunity to clean up some of the wiring from the previous owner(s) and put a switch on the trickle charger... I'm thinking it is putting a load on the battery when not plugged in and is just a brick unless it is plugged in. I'm also going to wire up an accessory power supply like I had on my Ninja to keep my Ipod and phone charged up. The Daytona also earned herself some cosmetic mods pretty soon...
     
    #1 varment, Aug 21, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012
  2. scollins

    scollins
    Expand Collapse

    1,513
    3
    343
    Location:
    Renton WA
    I Ride:
    2008 Ducati 1098S
    Shocking, a British made motorized product with electrical issues! crackup:

    Joking aside, glad you were able to limp it home vs. being stranded somewhere. Good luck on getting the gremlins sorted and back on the road!
     
    Grantizzle likes this.
  3. Jeffytune

    Jeffytune
    Expand Collapse

    1,859
    0
    441
    Location:
    Beaverton
    Lucas, the lord of smoke and darkness.

    It's not real fair to dig on Lucas, they did make one product that didn't totally suck, it was a vacuum cleaner.

    Q: do you know why they drink warm beer is Brittan?

    A: Lucas refrigerators.

    Did you know that up until just recently the DOT required that all motor vehicles equipped with a Lucas electrical system all have one piece of safety equipment?

    Yes, they all had to come with a Bosch flashlight.
     
  4. mrmeeks

    mrmeeks
    Expand Collapse

    171
    0
    86
    Location:
    Roseburg, OR
    [​IMG]

    The current Triumph company doesn't use Lucas electronics!

    Good luck sorting it out and hope you are bock on the road soon!

    Some of the 675 Daytonas have had trouble with their rectifiers stranding there riders.
     
  5. PWALL

    PWALL
    Expand Collapse

    328
    0
    116
    Location:
    Sammamish, WA
    Not sure if this is related, ex girlfriend had a 2007 675, died on the freeway on a hot day. Rectifier/regulator fried and toasted ecu/battery with it!! The stock ones were not mosfet apparently and extremely prone to overheating. Had to get an ecu off a wrecked bike to avoid $800+ part from dealer.

    Just make sure you replace it with the new version! Dealers all stock the new one, i know i90 in Issaquah had one.

    I would recommend to anyone with a 675 to preemptively replace that part and avoid huge electrical repairs. The only warning sign was a faint sulfur smell 10 minutes before incident as the battery roasted itself :shock:

    Good luck!!

    [​IMG]
     
  6. mrmeeks

    mrmeeks
    Expand Collapse

    171
    0
    86
    Location:
    Roseburg, OR
    QUOTE=PWALL;2834918]"Not sure if this is related, ex girlfriend had a 2007 675, died on the freeway on a hot day. Rectifier/regulator fried and toasted ecu/battery with it!! The stock ones were not mosfet apparently and extremely prone to overheating. Had to get an ecu off a wrecked bike to avoid $800+ part from dealer.

    Just make sure you replace it with the new version! Dealers all stock the new one, i know i90 in Issaquah had one.

    I would recommend to anyone with a 675 to preemptively replace that part and avoid huge electrical repairs. The only warning sign was a faint sulfur smell 10 minutes before incident as the battery roasted itself :shock:

    Good luck!! -Paul"




    That's what I've been thinking!

    The suspension was crap on the standard model and now this.
    But, I still love it!

    :eek:ccasion:
     
    #6 mrmeeks, Aug 22, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
  7. kirkcdl

    kirkcdl
    Expand Collapse

    926
    0
    316
    Location:
    Roseburg,OR
    This should help...

    [​IMG]




    [​IMG]
     
  8. varment

    varment
    Expand Collapse

    4,675
    0
    766
    Location:
    Tri-city, Oregon
    I'm going with a non Triumph Aftermarket R/R...
     
  9. rickc

    rickc
    Expand Collapse

    1,052
    0
    266
    Location:
    Roseburg,OR
    Wanna see how you wire your acc. port., direct from batt. with an inline fuse or tap into existing fuse of your choice?
     
  10. varment

    varment
    Expand Collapse

    4,675
    0
    766
    Location:
    Tri-city, Oregon
    The unit I'm looking at has a 30 amp circuit breaker on 10 gauge wire that goes straight to the battery...
     
  11. Wayne L

    Wayne L
    Expand Collapse

    65
    0
    66
    Location:
    Roseburg Or.
    Your lucky you didnt burn up your stator unit. Thats what usely goes when you run on a dead batt. or reg.
     
  12. varment

    varment
    Expand Collapse

    4,675
    0
    766
    Location:
    Tri-city, Oregon
    Yeah, I'm sure I'd see evidence of my last ride if I took the stator cover off and inspected it...
     
  13. racinjason44

    racinjason44
    Expand Collapse

    346
    0
    116
    Location:
    North Bend, Oregon
    A Triumph 650 broke down! Blasphemy!
     
  14. varment

    varment
    Expand Collapse

    4,675
    0
    766
    Location:
    Tri-city, Oregon
    No, not broke down, it still runs.... just doesn't charge right now...
     
  15. racinjason44

    racinjason44
    Expand Collapse

    346
    0
    116
    Location:
    North Bend, Oregon
    So it's not rideable?
     
  16. RideMotto

    RideMotto
    Expand Collapse

    1,008
    0
    366
    Location:
    West Side
    I've been thinking about putting in an accessory power supply on my bike too. Is there a kit you are using or are you piecing it together yourself? Also, how to you plan on tapping into your bike's power? I've seen people get power through the fuse box, but that seems too lazy and sketchy for my taste.
     
  17. mrmeeks

    mrmeeks
    Expand Collapse

    171
    0
    86
    Location:
    Roseburg, OR

    That's pretty much what I did and you can charge the battery through it also.

    [​IMG]


    :eek:ccasion:
     
  18. racinjason44

    racinjason44
    Expand Collapse

    346
    0
    116
    Location:
    North Bend, Oregon
    Ooh, I like that idea.
     
  19. varment

    varment
    Expand Collapse

    4,675
    0
    766
    Location:
    Tri-city, Oregon
    short trips were fine but I just replaced the R/R and am getting 14.2 volts from idle to 5k rpms. I think that did the trick but have a bad feeling the battery is on its way out which wouldn't surprise me...

    I piece things together on my own. Never to the fuse box though. I go straight off the battery with an inline fuse and either use a switch or a relay. On my Ninja 650R I had a male female connector from radio shack wired and mounted in the cockpit infill. the Male connector was wired to the tank bag where I could plug in my phone and ipod. On the same circuit I had a power plug that I plugged my GPS into and Heated grips. 20A fuse and never had any issues...
     
  20. rickc

    rickc
    Expand Collapse

    1,052
    0
    266
    Location:
    Roseburg,OR
    Hey Mel, where did you buy the connector thats mounted on the bike? Is that a common weather pack style connector?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
i'll be in my bunk (custom bike) Motorcycle Talk Oct 8, 2014
I'll just leave this here Track Time Aug 12, 2014
I'll never be a Ninja in these squeaky Sidi boots Motorcycle Talk Aug 2, 2014
Borile Bastard, I'll take it Motorcycle Talk Mar 18, 2014
Anyone up to lend me a hand for 1 hour? I'll pay ya. motorcycle transport needed Tacoma-Puyallup Mar 8, 2014

Share This Page