New to riding... What to buy....

Discussion in 'New Users' started by Troa, Jan 21, 2012.

1. Hello everyone!

My name's Gary. I am new to street bikes, but not new to motorcycles or to forums. I grew up riding my CR125 and CRF250 from time to time while camping, but nothing TOO extensive. I had a fully forged 2008 WRX with 375whp that I just finished parting out and am about to sell. I'm an avid poster on a lot of various Subaru boards and enjoy going to meets and entering my car in shows. I'm using my equity to buy a cheap little Subaru wagon and a bike, both paid off becuase I am tired of having a payment. I really want to be able to save up and travel around the world. I can buy another nice car in a few years (BRZ STI?). In the meantime, I need my fun fix so the bike will be filling the void. As a subie guy I LOOOOOVE deep, throaty exhaust notes so I am set on buying a V-Twin.

I REALLY want a Honda Shadow Phantom, but don't think dropping $7-8k on a new bike is a good idea for my first street bike. I have been looking at a few different bikes and want some opinions from some more experienced riders. I know I have a mix of sport and cruisers, but I'm kind of unsure which I want. If I buy a cruiser, I will probably just replace it with the Phantom when the time comes and if I buy a sport bike, I will probably keep both so I can have different flavors depending on my mood :). I just know I really don't want an inline 4. I have also been tossing around the idea of buying a Buell Blast and riding that until I get comfortable and then just getting the Phantom since I can get a nice Blast for like $1500.

My budget is around $3k and I have been considering:

- Buell XB9SX
    - Suzuki SV650
    - Honda Shadow
    - Yamaha V-Star

Let me know what you guys think!

2. Oh, I forgot to add, for me my most imporant features are reliability, fun factor, low end torque, ease of maintenance, and good looks. I'm pretty set on a black or blue bike.

3. RedKat600