Stickiest 19" front tire?

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Talk' started by KNanthrup, Aug 30, 2012.

1. KNanthrup

KNanthrup
    Expand Collapse

Doing a little bit of research and mod prep on a BMW R1100GS that I'm picking up shortly. I have zero experience with bikes that run a 19" front, but I know that it certainly limits my tire choices. The bike will see a fair amount of dual sport use where it will probably wear a set of Anakee's, Tourance, or I also understand that Heidenau K60's are a good option for their price? Anyhow, not too worried about finding a dual sport tire.

What I am curious about... the hooligan in me says that I'm going to need a set of tires on this thing that will allow me to drag hard parts to my heart's content. Hell, I will probably haul this thing along to a track day or two just for kicks. So I'm going to need the best rubber that will perform and is available in the awkward sizes the bike demands (or an equivalent that fits the stock rims).

OEM spec is 110/80/19 front and 150/70/17 rear.

So far it seems like the Pilot Road 3's might be my best option. I also noticed the Pirelli Scorpions are made in those sizes.. and I have seen someone successfully flog a Multistrada on a set of those. Another option might be Avon Distanzas?

Anywho, if anyone has experience with tire choices for these sizes I'd love some input.

2. cgt1229

cgt1229
    Expand Collapse

I'm rather fond of the Dunlop 591 SP labeled a "Harley tire". Been running these for years on my 1100 Kat (500+lbs dry).

Nice contact patch at full lean for such a narrow tire. Doesn't last too long, but for $100 can't complain.

Used it at the Ridge back in June with 29 psi cold, it worked great.

3. koorbloh

koorbloh
    Expand Collapse
    Je Fa Fa

I Ride:
    dirty bikes!
    why not go see how those DS tires treat you before you go about needlessly swapping tires all the time?

4. Grantizzle

Grantizzle
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member